the good book corner

Manuscript help, book reviews and author interviews

The Ibis Trilogy,Amitav Ghosh


The Ibis, Anahita and Redruth- what do they have in common? Amitav Ghosh!!!

In his books Sea of Poppies and River of Smoke,Amitav Ghosh weaves an interconnecting, intricate tale of  three ships and their passengers.  In September 1838, a storm blows up on the Indian Ocean and the Ibis, a ship carrying a consignment of convicts and indentured labourers from Calcutta to Mauritius, is caught up in the whirlwind.  When the storm blows over, five people go missing.

In the second book of the Ibis trilogy, River of Smoke, Ghosh reintroduces us to Ibis and the survivors on reaching Mauritius. He also introduces the Anahita, with it’s consignment of opium, bound for China and the Redruth, traversing the seas in search of the mysterious botanical treasures of the far east.

Set in the 1800s in India, Mauritius and China, the books centre around the profitable opium trade and the emerging British Empire.

Ghosh’s research is impeccable as always and through the characters depicted, he presents the idiosyncrasies and the motivations behind the events of the 19th century, that wrote the fate of the three great empires.

Amitav Ghosh’s excellent prose makes these books truly classic. Watch out for Flood of Fire which is due to release in 2015.

Rating- 4/5


The Ibis Trilogy

Amitav Ghosh


Sea of Poppies 528 pages; River of Smoke 560 pages


About artikaaurorabakshi

Artika Aurora Bakshi Artika Aurora Bakshi is the author of three well-acclaimed children’s books,My Little Sikh Handbook, My Little Sikh Handbook 2: Ardas, My Little Sikh Handbook: Travel Journal, and an anthology of stories, Hold On To Me. Her first story, set in Amritsar, during the pre-Partition period, All She Had Left, was published on Story Mirror. She co-manages, a manuscript help and book review site. Her passion for reading has led her to helping other writers with their manuscripts. She comes from a family of lawyers and has a master’s degree in International Banking & Finance. Currently based in Sri Lanka, she teaches Commerce and History on a part-time basis at an international school and enjoys being part of the literary scene in Sri Lanka. A regular at the Galle Literary Festival and other literary events in Sri Lanka, Artika’s articles and book reviews have featured in the Daily Mirror, Daily News, The Ceylon Chronicle, and various blogs, such as,,, She was actively involved with SAARC Women’s Association of Sri Lanka and was President of the Association in 2016. An avid reader, Artika runs an online book club with a membership base of over 600 members. Her quotes are featured under soul.nightingale on Instagram and on Soul Nightingale by Artika Aurora Bakshi on Facebook. Artika is also working on her fourth children’s book in the My Little Sikh Handbook series and a second anthology of stories for adults. You can reach Artika at .

2 comments on “The Ibis Trilogy,Amitav Ghosh

  1. libs
    October 14, 2014



    • Preeti Singh
      October 14, 2014



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: